INDEPTH006: Crypticz [DIFFRENT MUSIC/INFLECT AUDIO]

FB: http://www.facebook.com/deependcollective
BLOG: http://www.deependcollective.wordpress.com/
IG: @deependcollective

We’re back with our latest INDEPTH mix, featuring none other than 20 year old badman Crypticz! 

Recently being taken under the Diffrent Music wings, we had a chat to Crypticz about his music, what he gets up to aside music, pizza, and drum and bass heavy weight boxing matches.


So Jordan, tell us about yourself and describe Crypticz with 3 words?

Yo, I’m Crypticz. A producer currently based in a town outside of Bristol, UK. Three words to describe Crypticz? Me doing music?

Let’s start from the core, you push a very unique style of upper BPM music such as drum & bass/footwork. What were/are the influences that drive the music you produce?

Early influences for me when it came to writing electronic music was Dubstep, particularly the deeper, darker stuff. Especially Bristol based artists like RSD and Pinch. I also love what the London lot did, Mala, Coki, Burial (this guy is like in a different league all together though, for me!), etc.

When it comes to what I write now I like to think I’m influenced by everything I hear everyday. I listen to a lot of different styles of music. Been quite into new wave and punk bits and bobs lately. A bit of techno too but more recently I’m quite into kinda funky disco/house stuff.

When it comes to artists working in the same or a similar field as me a massive one was obviously Om Unit. I think that goes for a lot of people. I also draw a lot of inspiration from Moresounds, he is a great artist. Coleco has influenced me greatly and my path as a producer too. He helped me to get where I am currently. He will forever be a bit of a mentor for me with his advice and direction. I owe him a lot!

From your selection or genres did one really stand out therefore making more of an impact on your music or did they all come together at once?

I feel that, currently, the music I play and write is kind of just a coming together of all the different styles I feel represent myself as an artist delivered and presented in a certain way.

You recently turned 20! What age did you begin producing and when did you decide you wanted to put a lot of effort into it?

I did! I’m a real adult now, I have to try my hand at this real life thing… we’ll see how that goes! Yeah, I’ve been into music ever since I can remember and I first got involved with it myself through playing guitar but I didn’t start producing electronic music until I was 16. Hmmm, I mean, I think I’ve always put effort into it but yeah certainly lately I’ve been driven to push harder and further. I put quite a lot of pressure on myself at times I think. These days I am certainly the most dedicated to the craft than I ever have been. I think I have uni to thank for that, I’ve been given all this time and direction to focus on what I love and make what I want out of it.

You bursted into this music scene throughout 2013 what was the reaction when you have had support from artists such as Om Unit, Doc Scott, Chimpo and more!?

I’m still really stoked and surprised man! To have had these people supporting my stuff this year is a real honour and I’m just so pleased these people like my music. I’m super pleased that anyone likes it!

We’ve noticed you’re involved in the brand new label Sweetbox, it’s hard to discover more about it. What’s the direction of Sweetbox?

Yeah, Sweetbox is a mysterious little label running out of Bristol with a few people behind the project. The idea really is to just be a quirky, fun little label pushing out some good, interesting music. The first release is a two track single from my good friend and collaborator Lakeway and myself. It’s got that Bubblegum tune on it that people seem to be quite into so yeah, now you can get your hands on it! It’s also got a new Lakeway track called Guns for Hire thats been going down a treat. Both the tracks are in the mix actually, if you’re yet to hear them.

One of your latest release’s on inflect UK really caught our ears. Inflect are ticking every box in pushing new exciting bass music at the moment! What was it like working with them?

Thank you! I’m glad people enjoyed the release so much. I will pass the kind words onto Alex (Coleco) & Lorna who are the two behind the label, it means a lot to them too. In regards to working with them it was a great experience. Alex & Lorna are people I met around late 2013 through gigging and gradually, as I found myself in Bristol more, I came to know them both quite well. They are really lovely people with a real passion for music, my sort of people. I think working on a release with them went so smoothly as a result of this, it was nice to put something together with the help of two friends and I am still really proud and pleased with the final result.

Now if that didn’t perk up enough ears you have also been signed to London’s favourite giraffe obsessed twisted drum and bass machine Diffrent Music. Did you feel pressure working alongside the pink giraffes and putting out music next to such respected producers?

You know it man! When Chris (Dexta) first picked me up for Diffrent I was in that almost honeymoon like phase where I was just really excited to be working with him and his label and all was great. I worked really hard on the tunes and wrapped them up ready for release and that was that. Then, that was when my mind started fucking with me haha. Especially in the last couple months building up to my EP, I got really spooked about how my music would be received by the Diffrent fan base, I was worried whether they would actually like it or not. As you say the roster is so well respected within the underground scene with people like Arkaik, Fearful, Hyroglifics, etc.

Chris really has things on lockdown with the label though, I beleived in him and he knows whats right for the label and when. I figured he wouldn’t have picked me up if I wasn’t right. As it turned out it seems the EP went down rather well, I’ve heard really kind words from a lot of people which is really cool dude, I’m so pleased. I’m honoured to be part of the Diffrent Music family now!

Dream label to release on?

I really respect what Jim (Om Unit) does with Cosmic Bridge so I think it would be a real honour to be a part of that label. So yeah, thats probably one of the dream ones!

Where do you see Crypticz heading in 2016?

I can’t really give too much away at this moment in time but definitley look out for more music! Fingers crossed there should be a bit of vinyl poking around too if thats your thing. I’m very much looking forward to 2016. I’m sitting on and wrapping up a lot of material this summer and I can’t wait to have the oppurtunity to share it.

Ok, I’ll stop drilling you now.

Dream venue/festival?!

I think Outlook would be super great to play!

Describe the Crypticz creative space, where the magic happens?

I roll things pretty simple for now, one day I dream of having a sexy little set up you know but the money ain’t there for now!

I’ve got my laptop, interface, a little nanokey for playing stuff in and more recently got a launchpad for some fun times! Monitoring I primarily use Sennheiser HD558 Headphones but I’m also lucky enough to live at uni with good friends, one of which is another producer. He lets me use his Yamaha monitors A LOT. I think I’m correct in saying they’re HS80Ms… Maybe. I have a pretty love/hate relationship with them, they’re not the ideal monitor for me. I love the sound of Genelec monitoring. But I’m still super grateful so shouts to Lewis on that one!

Canine or feline studio pals?

Ohhh toughest question! I’ve got a black cat, who is a proper cool cat you know, so I have to be on his side and say feline. But lately I’ve had an almost dangerous love for Pugs, I want one of those some day, thats a cool dog, but perhaps not the most manly! I also recommend Giraffes as a solid studio buddy. Specifically, pink ones!

First choice, producer or Dj?

Producer.

There’s a fire in you’re house which 3 records make it out alive?

What an evil question… I think if this happened right now I would grab:

Om Unit – Threads LP

Skream – The Shinein

Mild High Club – Windowpane

They’re not like super rare records or anything, just personal favourites/important ones to me.

Beer or bourbon?

Bourbon

Ultimate Pizza topping?

You know they do like brunch burgers? Imagine a brunch pizza. I’ve not come across that before, that would be big!

Who would win a 1 on 1 between Goldie and Doc Scott? No weapons.

Hmmm, tough… Going to have to say Scotty on this one I think, he is a bit of a don!

Thank you! Hope people enjoy the mix.

Much appreciated!
X TDEC X

CRYPTICZ SC: http://www.soundcloud.com/crypticz-1
CRYPTICZ FB: http://www.facebook.com/crypticzmusic
DIFFRENT MUSIC FB: http://www.facebook.com/diffrentmusic
DIFFRENT MUSIC SC: http://www.soundcloud.com/diffrent
INFLECT UK FB: http://www.facebook.com/inflectbristol
INFLECT UK SC: http://www.soundcloud.com/inflect-uk

TRACKLIST:

Om Unit – Ether (Intro Edit)
Hidden Turn – Dream of Tron
Heart Drive – Empathy Reeboot
Ital Tek – Shinra
Graphs – I Think About U
Iglew – Sleep Lighter (Crypticz VIP)
Danny Scrilla – Free Flight (ft. Om Unit)
C92 – The Startup
Nu Tone – Lightning (Sideswipe VIP)
Moresounds – Reality Tune
Crypticz & Itoa – MTD
Crypticz – Bubblegum
Danny Scrilla – Jello
Swayz – Rawdred
Red Army – Brevity (Epilleptech Remix)
J:Kenzo – Talisman
Apache – Gobo
Bad Graphics – Inside
Akkord – Back & Forth (Iyer’s 160 Edit)
DJ Manny – Off The Walls
Homesick – Babalon
Sinistarr – h3xx
Lakeway – Guns For Hire
Crypticz – Magnets (Moresounds Remix)

Leave a Reply

